Day 51: 380 days to 27th birthday

God bless whoever added the ability to adjust track speed in QuickTime. After listening to a SH lecture on B101 as recorded, I ran across a way to speed up the second lecture of the series (option/>> arrow for those of you who are curious) without making it sound like a rejected Alvin and the Chipmunks audiobook. The 1 hr 52 min takes just over an hour, but the pace is steady enough that note taking is still possible.

With that whopping extra 45 minutes, I did a timed NCARB vignette practice exam, which came out like so:

Plot styles? We don't need no stinking plot styles.

I don’t see anything wrong. Do you? Let me know…preferably by Friday evening. I’ve got a pretty good grasp on working with the software, but want to practice a few more times. This run through took 35 minutes, including review, but I’d like to get it down to 30 so I’ll have plenty of time to work my way through the actual exam.

I threw flashcards and B101 into my bag to study at lunch today, but seeing that I have 3 minutes until it’s back to AutoCAD and SD drawings, that doesn’t look like it’s going to happen. Oh well, I guess I’ll save that fun for tonight.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 51: 380 days to 27th birthday

  1. Danielle Meyers says:

    Hey Jenny,

    I just wanted to drop a note that all your blogs are very helpful. I am 3 tests down and just took my Construction Docs one yesterday. I am hoping it went well. I was getting all my vignette practice tests done in 30min so on test day it went pretty well and I took the entire hour. I did notice though that I was 1″ short on 2 out of my 3 parapets though and did not have time to fix as clock ran out. I am kicking myself, but hope it is within tolerance of the program. Have you heard anything on the tolerance of the program for measurements?

    Thanks for all the tips. Study guides and comments are excellent.

    • jennypdx says:

      Hey Danielle! Glad to hear the blog has been helpful to you, and hopefully you get your pass letter back on CDS soon. The vignette software leaves a bit to be desired on accuracy at times so the rule of thumb I’ve seen on the forum is that a “click” away from the line you’re trying to draw is usually good enough. Depending on the scale of the drawing, that actual measurement might vary. I can’t speak to your parapets, but hopefully you’re within that tolerance. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

