Day 72: 359 days to 27th birthday

Last night, for the first time in a week I was home, and it was beautiful. After all the birthday celebrations for myself and Nate, who’s birthday is a week before mine, a day trip out the gorge as part of his present, and one of his buddies getting married, it was nice just to come home after work and sit.

1/3 of my collection. how many cliché/classic texts do you see?

Sit in front of my bookshelf, that is.

I’ve enjoyed collecting books for as long as I can remember, but it wasn’t until college that my architectural library truly began to flourish. I had the great fortune of taking three architectural history courses from Phil Gruen at Washington State University during my undergrad years (Go Cougs!) so I expect that I’ll have had some exposure to nearly anything the history portion of this exam decides to throw at me. At this point my strategy is to breeze through the Kaplan history book that came with my study set, find and re-review my college history notes (I knew I kept them for a reason!), and brush up on what I can in a few of the books on my shelf. A History of Architecture by Kostof is one of the best history books I’ve ever read, and I’m looking forward to dusting it off. There’s so much to read and digest on the subject, so I’m a bit overwhelmed, but I’m hoping it will all come back to me quickly. The archiflash flashcards that I studied last night asked about planning history, which makes sense for this exam, so I’ll try to give a bit of extra attention to those.

I need to schedule the exam too. Minor detail, haha, but I’m not sure how much time I want to give myself to prepare. My goal is to take this and Site Planning + Design by the end of the year, so I think I’ll be looking at mid October for this one. That will put SPD somewhere between Thanksgiving and Christmas, which I hope won’t dilute the spirit of the holidays. Perhaps if I went and asked Santa for two more passing scores this year…tis the season to be jolly, right?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

