on circles and rivers. roll with it.

At the risk of sounding like I’ve started some curvacious tribute to Piet Mondrian, I just spent the better part of my lunch hour sketching circles of all sizes on canvas. It’s really more elegant than it sounds.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The PPP Vignette states than no site improvements or building will be done within 25′-0″ of the high water mark. The concept is easy to understand: the polyline for each can’t be within that dimension or else you fail. The bitch is actually figuring out how to draw the boundary. The general consensus on areforum is to be as accurate as the software allows, however we all know that speed is nearly as critical. There appear to be two common approaches. 1) Draw a 25′-0″ diameter circle and copy a string of them along the entire length of the high water line with the edge of the circle on the line. The site/building boundary line is then drawn where the circles intersect (where they make an “X”). Option 2) Draw a 50′-0″ diameter circle and copy of string of them along the length of the water line with the center of the circle on the line. The boundary line in this case is tangent to the edge of the circles. In my practice runs to date, I have always gone with the second option as it just seems to work better.

However in reading another post, user sdjahedi presents a third option. 3) Place circles with a 50′-0″ diameter with the edge of the circle along the water line. Then use center of circle to snap the polylines for surface improvements/building area. They note: “If you can place the tangent right on the top of curve line, one click on the shore side is fine too.”

So I tried that, and guess what? IT WORKS. Really. I need to practice with it a bit more/make sure I have enough circles to create an accurate path, but unless I’m convinced otherwise, this is the easiest way to do it. The polylines snap perfectly to centers so there’s no hair pulling, and in the end, the edges appears to be right where they should be. I really wonder why more people don’t use this method.

(I never thought I’d be so happy about offsetting a site plan mark.)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “on circles and rivers. roll with it.

  1. Britt says:

    This is genius! I’m taking PPP in a week and will definitely use this method on the vignette. Oh and thanks for your awesome study guide (and entertaining commentary on the blog).

  2. Yanet says:

    Thanks for posting this! I am no longer pulling out my hair – well except for when the lines at the angle cant line up – I can not get them to overlap the angle so I just make sure Im below the restriction or as close to the grade as possible – Thoughts?

    • jennypdx says:

      I’m glad to hear it helped Yanet, I understand how you feel! It can be really tricky to get the lines to match the angle, and the rule of thumb on the forum is to draw your line one click or fraction of a degree under the requirement (that is, drawing an angle at 29.95 degrees is better than 30.02 degrees.) At grade that means to draw your line one click below the grade line. Sounds like you’re doing the right thing, keep up the good work! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

