who’s done with PPP? (Yeah you know me!)

PASS!!!

Got the letter in the mail when I got home from work on Friday. Last exam I debated if I should open it (at the risk of running not only the weekend but my birthday too) or wait a couple days. This time I had the envelope halfway open before I really realized what I was doing. I’m absolutely elated that I don’t have to study for this thing again…it really was a challenge. Site Planning + Design is scheduled for March 11th, and I’m glad I can focus on that with a bit of renewed optimism for the study process. But today I think I’ll celebrate a bit more.

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “who’s done with PPP? (Yeah you know me!)

  1. I thought results came in 4-6 weeks but it seems like you gets them within days! I hope I’m as lucky?!

    • jennypdx says:

      I wish it was days, but I usually have to settle for 2-3 weeks for my results. I’ve heard some states allow you to check your results online, not the case with mine unfortunately.

      Saw on your blog that you just registered for your first exam…best of luck in your studies, I’m sure you’ll do great! (Get used to the feeling of having to hurl after signing up…it never goes away haha!)

  2. Hey Jenny, I’m planning on taking PPP first (during the first week in October) and I was curious to find out from you how long you took to study for this one – it’s obviously a catchall and pulls information from all over the place – it’s starting to feel like to me that this exam (and SPD and BDCS) may take longer… I’ve given myself about a month for PPP – what do you think?

    • jennypdx says:

      Hi! I gave myself about 6 weeks to prepare for PPP but I think a month would be doable, depending on how much time you dedicate to study. There is a lot of material to go through, and the month before my exam I found myself spending a few hours a night a few times a week studying. Two weeks before the exam I really buckled down and was spending about 4 hours a night on weekdays and all day on the weekends preparing. I felt like I had enough time that way, but I had to sacrifice all of my free time to preparing. That being said, I felt pretty confident walking into the exam, so it was worth it. The best advice I can give is to print out a calendar and create study schedule that works best for you. If you come up with a plan of attack to get everything done in 4 weeks, and stick to it, then I have no doubt that you’ll feel prepared. Good luck!

  3. Kate says:

    Jenny, I just found out that I passed PPP and I honestly could not have done it without you and your notes. You are doing us all such a huge service and there should be some kind of award created just for you.
    My friend who’s taking the exams at the same time I am (and who also passed) said that we owe you a beer. We actually owe you the whole brewery.
    Thanks for all the help!!

    • jennypdx says:

      Aww, thanks Kate 🙂 Congrats on the Pass, hope you’re celebrating! I’ll have a pint in you and your friend’s honor, cheers!

  4. Maranna says:

    Hey Jenny!! I realize it was awhile ago at this point, but the history for the PPP is seriously freaking me out! haha. Those are by far the questions I keep getting thrown on. My undergrad history classes were, unfortunately, rather sucky. How big of a portion of the exam was history questions?? Alot of the rest i’m feeling really comfortable with…but those dang history questions. Oie! Test day is a week and a half away.

    • jennypdx says:

      Hey Maranna, history is a bit of a wild card on this one, so I understand your worry. It’s impossible to know every architect, building, and style from antiquity to present, so don’t feel as if that’s what you’re expected to know. I prepared by looking at the big historical concepts related to Programming, Planning, and Practice. In my notes you’ll find brief summaries of some key players I ran across while studying….hopefully that will help get you started as to what types of things to look for. Good luck, don’t get too hung up it, remember it’s not a history exam. 🙂

Leave a Reply

