SP+D kickoff

The study guide that I put together for the PPP exam was a serious undertaking, but one of the best ways (that I’ve found so far) to cover all of the topics in the NCARB exam guide. I just started working on compiling a similar guide for SP+D, and while looking for resources on arefourm, ran across this link on member dwg’s profile. Fantastic! I’ve been clicking through the SP+D forum page, which is predominately vignette attempts, so it’s nice to find some helpful sources for the multiple choice portion (of course I’m sure all the vignettes stuff will be useful too). At the risk of sounding lazy, it looks like I’ll be able to grab a lot of the information I put in the PPP study guide for this one as well. Hopefully I’ll have it done by the end of this week, which will give me about two to memorize everything…minimum grade percentages I’m looking at you.

this just seems wrong (photo by flickr user parislemon)

In other news, I finally got around to partitioning and installing windows 7 on my mac again this weekend. After the great hard drive crash of late 2011, I never reinstalled windows as the only time I use it is for the NCARB vignette software and when I’m attempting to teach myself 3D studio max. I don’t know which program makes me pull my hair out more sometime. I’m looking forward to sitting down and working through the vignettes soon. It looks like I’ll need to dedicate quite a bit of time in the evenings to practicing these things!

I ran through the NCARB exam guide practice problems and the Kaplan practice problems and scored a 79% and 60% respectively. Not bad for a first attempt at either. While I know that I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me on this one, I don’t feel nearly as overwhelmed as the previous exams.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “SP+D kickoff

  1. Mara Salas says:

    SPD will be my next. I am now studying for PPP and have to say that I moved my test when I saw your notes. They are fantastic. Please keep sharing!! 🙂

    Good Luck to you!

  2. Joe D. says:

    Hey Jenny, just started studying SPD today and I had know idea where to start and I came across your SPD kickoff blog. Got any tips or advice before I take the plunge? Great blog

    • jennypdx says:

      Hi Joe, thanks for reading! If you’ve already taken PPP/CDS already, I’d recommend reviewing your notes against the SPD exam guide from NCARB. There’s some overlap, especially under then “Project & Practice Management” heading. Fundamentals of Building Construction is a good book to read on foundations and a nice place to start as well. Best of luck on your exam!!

Leave a Reply

