on sniffles and slurry walls

Oh hey, it’s Friday…guess who doesn’t have her work done? (I suppose technically there are a few more hours in the day to meet deadline. Stranger things have happened.) I picked up a sweet head cold this week and haven’t been making it any better by thinking/living/breathing Timbers preseason matches. We had another one last night, a 1-1 draw against Chivas USA in the frigid cold that reminded me of snowy football games at Washington State, only with more booze (if that’s even possible when mentioning the Cougs, but I digress.)

I crawled into bed the other night with my dusty copy of Fundamentals of Building Construction: Materials and Methods, a textbook from a building course I took during my undergrad. I’m ashamed to admit that I forgot how fascinating it was. Seriously. If you’re looking for a comprehensive and easy to understand construction text, buy this book. Allen breaks down each chapter into a concise explanation on a construction type and includes loads of photos, drawings, and tables. The chapter on foundations was a quick read, about 70 pages, and I’m feeling pretty good about soils, excavation, and foundation design. I think I spent most of my time going over the section on slurry walls… why I find those so fascinating I will never know. The next step is to go back through the chapter and type up a few key notes for my guide.

So with a bit of work I should be able to get my notes wrapped up soon. I haven’t paid much attention to the vignettes yet and I’m quite worried about that. My plan was to dedicate most of Saturday to working through site design and grading, and I’m hoping that will still be the case when tomorrow rolls around. With just over a week until the exam, I’m feeling like I’m on the right track, but (like always) there’s still so much to be done.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

