a picture is worth 1,000 words

Over at arefourm, member gordo3di took the architectural history/styles portion of my PPP notes and put together a really useful guide that includes pictures for each style. Check out the PDF here!

During undergrad I took an architectural styles course where we had to be able to look at a building (or a photo of one like this guide) and name the style and date of construction based on the visual clues. It was one of the most interesting seminars I took, and to this day I can still look at a building and date it within a few years. (Which gets either a “how the hell did you know that?” or “oh geeze, there she goes again” from others.) Guess I’m just a big old archi-nerd.

So even if you’ve passed PPP already…check this out and see what you can identify when you’re out on the town. I suspect there’s a bit of a nerdy streak in all of us.

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “a picture is worth 1,000 words

  1. Thank you for posting this. I appreciate your blog and this post came at the best time!

  2. Thank you for posting this. I love your blog and this post came at the perfect time.

  3. Anjana says:

    Godo3di’s PDF is no more out there. Wish it were, but I did a little Wiki and Google image searching myself with your notes, and got the job accomplished. I didn’t have any pics in my test, but I did have a few building names that I just had to take my stab at guessing on.

  4. Min says:

    Thank you for your quick response..

Leave a Reply

