the current state of my (other) desktop

learn all of this? no big deal…right?

Well the Timbers didn’t win (another 0-0 draw) and now haven’t scored a goal in, oh, 427 minutes.  That’s over 4 matches.  Damn.  On the plus side, Houston’s Stadium was gorgeous, we got a point on the road, and no one got kicked in the face.  Sometime you have to remind yourself to always look on the bright side of life.

The same rings true for studying.  I’m now four chapters through Kaplan, and I think I’ve made it over the nasty calculations hurdle.  I’m able to work through equations and problems fairly efficiently,  but my understanding of what all the components mean is still weak.  I don’t know what I need to memorize what resources will be available,  so I want to review the NCARB supplied list before I go too much further.   The less I have to store in my brain, the better.

I’ve got to admit it’s a little strange sitting at a desk with books.  I don’t think I’ve done this since…well since I took structures in college.  While I’m enjoying  the reprieve from typing in a pages document, I feel like I’m ultimately going to have to take all of the information I’m highlighting and jotting down and put it into my notes later.  I hope I’m not wasting time.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “the current state of my (other) desktop

  1. Vivian says:

    Hi Jenny,
    I found out about your blog on the weekend when ARE forum went down. looks like you got a nice blog going here. I am also studying for Structure. I have been studying for this one forever. Materials somehow don’t stick to my head, perhaps i am not focused enough. My desk looks like yours, except i don’t have that simplified engineering book, but i do have the “SE for wind and earthquake”, which i haven’t open it yet! I only give myself one chance to pass this exam as my rolling clock is come up in 10 month. Really can’t wait to finish this long journey! Good luck to your studying. I want to drop a note because i am also a graduate from WSU! cheers, Vivian

  2. […] and that picture in the May 16th post is cool too. I should get that Pruitt-Igoe documentary, along with that Samuel Mockbee one. I mean, […]

Leave a Reply

