I was wrong and I just can’t live without you

The most gorgeous thing I have seen all week.

IT’S WORKING! IT’S WORRRRKIING!!!!

I am so happy to see arefourm alive and kicking…in part because now I can get “Baby Come Back” out of my head.  Also, because I’ve come to appreciate how much I rely on it.  Studying is a lonely process, and I really do enjoy the comradery amongst peers.

Looks like you can blog over there now, too.  I’m not sure how I’ll run with that yet, to be honest. I like the idea, but I’m feeling pretty cozy here on wordpress.  Perhaps I’ll put up my post exam thoughts or arefourm specific posts there.  While it’s good to have redundancy in a structural system, that’s really not the case with blogs. Keep it simple, right?

Speaking of structures, I’ve been making some progress the past few nights. I finished the Kaplan guide and tried the first 125 problems in the Q&A book.  It took about three hours to get through them all (had a few distractions around the house) so with some practice and focus, I should be able to get that time cut down to two hours. I think it is wise to start doing sets of problems using exam constraints.  It gets me thinking about equations and concepts quicker, and remembering to move on when I catch myself spending too much time on a problem.

I haven’t tallied my score from my first attempt yet, but by the looks of all the red marks indicating wrong answers I’d say I’m still facing an uphill battle.  Still, I’d rather learn from my mistakes now!  I was pleased to see that many of the questions I went with my gut on and marked turned out to be correct.  Today I saw a  post over on arefourm on the errors in the Q&A book, and member AugDog shared the errata they got from Kaplan correcting some of the problems.  Here it is as a PDF in case it disappears over there for some reason.

hope he doesn’t get tension headaches, har har!

The concepts, in general, are making sense.  As I work through the practice problems I’m beginning to see areas that I need to go back and spend more time on.  In addition to rereading material,  I need to dedicate time to memorizing key equations.   I’ll be spending a lot of time waiting in line for the Timbers match vs. Vancouver on Saturday, so that might be a good opportunity to crank through flashcards.

I don’t know if I will be able to get my study guide done by the end of the weekend, although I am still planning on taking a good stab at it.  Personally I need to get over the thought of sitting at my computer typing away in pages for hours…I think that is what is stimulating my procrastination the most.   Perhaps starting with something I’m interested in like architects and building history will get me on a roll.  Reading about great minds like Brunelleschi, Bucky Fuller, and Calatrava, is enough to inspire anyone.

So I guess we’ll see how it goes.  One thing is for sure though, now that arefourm is back it’s only a matter of time before “Reunited” gets stuck in my head.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “I was wrong and I just can’t live without you

  1. Jennifer says:

    I was already singing Reunited!! How funny!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I was already singing Reunited – how funny!!

  3. Rick says:

    In the words of Carole King – “It’s Too Late”. Just crashed and burned at SPD.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

