the exam day she’s been dreading

For years now I’ve kept this little picture on my desk…75% for a laugh and 25% for days like today.

Not gonna lie, I’m scared.  But I’m also excited to give this exam a shot and (even more so) to get it over with.  At this point I’ve officially done all I can, beside looking over equations in the parking lot before I walk in to Prometric.   The worst that can happen is that I take it again in January, and really, that’s not so bad (it’s always good to have something lined up for the post holidays slump anyway, right?)

I spent the last few nights rereading notes and going over practice problems in the Kaplan Q&A.  I didn’t get through the whole book as I had hoped. I did a set of 150 problems on Wednesday night and ended up getting most of them wrong (hello panic attack, followed by anger). So I spent Thursday night going through all of my incorrect answers and correcting my mistakes.  I think it helped.  Last night I reviewed my notes, read IBC Chapter 16 again, did a few more practice problems, and memorized equations like crazy. I know I broke the cardinal rule of taking time off before the exam to calm down and relax, but I didn’t feel like I could this time around.  Hopefully that doesn’t bite me in ass today.

My mind is still feeling a bit jumbled, but I bet part of that is due to nerves.  I’m ready to give it my all and hopefully knock this one out of the park.  I’ve a had tons of support from family and friends, and lots of well wishes as I prepared…including some from you, thank you!…I guess to be honest, I’d hate to let everyone down.   With that in mind, the best thing to do is stay optimistic that I won’t!

Alright*deep breath* Let’s go get this over with, shall we?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “the exam day she’s been dreading

  1. jyoungarch says:

    You are not going to let anyone down if you don’t get that pass letter….it happens to the best of us. I’ve been testing for over two years and you have inspired me to gain some strength and determination to get past this final hump and make it happen…THAT, you and everyone else should be proud of. Take your time, take a few deep breaths, don’t worry about the clock, and nail it. You’ve got this Jenny! Let us know how it goes..including the post-brew celebration….back to PPP and CDS notes for me…testing next week.

    • jennypdx says:

      Thanks so much for the words of support, I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner but know they boosted my confidence before walking in. Best of luck in your PPP/CDS preparation! You’ll do grand.

  2. archetect says:

    It sounds like you’ve been HARDCORE in study mode, so not taking time “off” as is suggested, was probably b/c you were in the zone. Dont let it bug you that much. I am sure you will do the best you can, and hopefully it will be the deciding factor. Listen, if you feel you prepped the best you could, you should def have no problem on the exam. It’s all about preparation.
    Good luck, def. give us some feedback on feelings, concerns, etc post test. I am sure you will have done great. (so keep those notes handy for those of us that will be tackling this next one shortly) 🙂

    • jennypdx says:

      It’s amazing how hard it is to get out of the zone once you’re in it! Thank you very much for your note, it’s just what I needed to see before turning off my phone and heading in to Prometric. Cheers!!

  3. stormLA says:

    Thank you so much for documenting your experience! I just took this exam myself – what a beast! I was not feeling confident at all leading up the exam and, like you, was only getting about 40-50% of the practice problems. I kept reading & re-reading that one part about “getting most of them wrong (hello panic attack, followed by anger)…[then] going through all of my incorrect answers and correcting my mistakes.” So that is what I did the night before the exam too. It was so comforting to know you were in the same boat, yet passed just the same. I was surprised by how calm & confident I felt during the exam (I credit that to prepping w/ the Thaddeus Online @ Your Pace this time around) – hopefully that’s a good sign!

    • jennypdx says:

      I think it’s a good sign indeed! Congrats on making it though the exam and hope you get a pass letter soon! Thanks for the kind words, I’m glad to hear my experience was helpful 🙂 cheers!

Leave a Reply

