bon voyage

It’s early. Really early. But I’m sitting here at PDX waiting for my flight to LAX, drinking coffee, gawking at trusses, and wondering who in the hell designs…let alone chooses…carpets for airports.  Vacation has officially begun, and it appears that I won’t be escaping architecture and design while on it…but I suppose you don’t see me complaining.

In my attempt to ignore the internet as best I can for the week I probably won’t have any posts for a few days.  Not that I post daily anyway.   Next Monday I’ll be back refreshed and ready to knock out the last three exams…and God willing, with a little bit of a tan.

Good luck with all your studying this week! Wishing you all much success.

Tagged

8 thoughts on “bon voyage

  1. Valeria says:

    Hi Jenny – I love your blog. Your posts and study guides are excellent. I am preparing for the Structural System Exam. Unfortunately I only have 2 1/2 weeks to prepare for it. I know it is not so much time, so I wanted to ask your advice on what to study. Thank you!!!

    • jennypdx says:

      Hi Valerie, thanks for reading! 2.5 weeks is doable, but you’ll be busy!! Check out the resource I listed in my study guide for SS, lots of useful links there. In addition, I’d recommend reading IBC Chapter 16, as was FEMA and Buildings at Risk for the conceptual questions. (you can get links to them at arefoum, just search the threads). Personally, I found that studying the Kaplan Q&A was probably the best thing I did…it covered conceptual and calculation questions that were comparable to the exam content. If you have or can get a copy of it, I’d highly recommend it.

      Good luck!!

      • Valeria says:

        Hi Jenny,

        Thank you so much for your prompt response. I will follow your advice. I was reading the Kaplan & the Ballast books. It might be too much, have you read these two? Or should I just read the Kaplan Q&A?.

        Good luck to you on the next one!!! I am also 4 passed and 3 to go.

        Valeria

      • jennypdx says:

        I used Kaplan and found it to be really useful. I was looking for a resource that covered general, seismic, wind, and lateral forces, and it got into enough detail on all of them to be helpful, but not overwhelming. My advice would be to flip through it if you have a day or two, then move on to the Q&A. Look up any questions you get wrong in the appropriate chapter…that strategy worked well for me!

        Congrats on being over the 1/2 way point…it’s a good feeling. Best of luck! Cheers!

  2. Valeria says:

    Thank you Jenny!!! Great advice. Yes it is a good feeling to have 4 passed, after all the effort.

    Cheers!!!

    Valeria

  3. Valeria says:

    Jenny – the last question I have: My Kaplan Structural Systems Q&A book only has a total of 471 questions. Is this the one book that everyone refers to in the forum as the 500+ Q&A book?

    Thank you

    Valeria

Leave a Reply

