it’s good to be back

I will always be a total sucker for this place. Love.

Ok, so I’m back to AREndurance land a bit later than I expected, but that’s how life (and vacation) goes. We had an awesome time down in Los Angeles… I got to see some fantastic architecture, visit almost every attraction you can name, and go down to Disneyland/California Adventure for the second time in my life.  While I’m still a big kid at heart when it comes to the happiest place on earth, I caught my designer eyes picking up things I never noticed (or cared about) before…did you know “It’s A Small World” has a lay-in 2×4 ceiling (not to mention seems to take waaaay longer to ride when you’re an adult!)? It’s true.   We got home late Sunday night thanks to delays in San Francisco due to fog, but it turns out the terminal I was spending my afternoon in has gotten some press on it’s innovative design, and is home to the only accredited museum in an airport.  Sweet.

So now that my bags are unpacked, I’m rested from my travels, and have 4th of July festivities taken care of, I’m back to studying… however not quite kicked into high gear.  I’m assuming that phase should be starting tonight or tomorrow, seeing that my exam is in 10 days.  Hooboy.   I’ve muddled through the interior layout and read up on the building layout so far, as well as looked at many examples on areforum.  I think the next step is to start adhering to the time constraints as I work through the given example and the alternatives.  Hopefully in the next day or two I’ll be able to post an attempt here and on the forum for review.  Once I have a decent grip on the process I’ll be able to put a step-by-step guide together.  I’ve gotta say, it’s pretty nice not having to compile a 50+ page study guide  for this exam….but maybe that’s just Vacation Jenny talking.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “it’s good to be back

  1. alkikat says:

    Welcome back Jenny. Just updated my SD notes & vignettes after seeing a co-worker pulling his hair out trying to do the wrong combo of alt & program: http://www.areforum.org/forums/showthread.php?286879-Vignette-Notes-amp-Graphic-Guides

    • jennypdx says:

      Thanks for the heads up. I was just looking through your notes this evening, they’ve been very useful already!

      • alkikat says:

        No problem. I had enough trouble keeping track of which alt goes w/ which program and thought, hmm… it would be useful to have the file names in the drawing so whomever is using it knows which one they’re looking at. I’ve also adjusted the Dorf .aut files so the room names & abbreviations match what’s written in the program.

Leave a Reply

