on recovery + progress

First off, the really good news: uncles are both improving.  One has gone home for recovery and the other, who had a stroke is starting to non-verbally communicate with people.  He’s out of ICU and doing a bit of physical therapy on a dedicated rehab unit.  We have to measure progress by weeks rather than days, and it’s going to be a slow recovery, but everyone is much more optimistic than they were  a few days ago.  Thank you all for your thoughts and well wishes, they have been sincerely appreciated.

Now onto the ARE update.  (That’s why we’re all here anyway.)  I’ve been getting my focus back (finally) and have been dumping information into my study guide as quickly as possible.  I’ve read a few chapters of Fundamental of Building Construction, but still need to write notes on them.   Archiflash cards are collecting dust on my desk, although I did manage to get through a stack of them while waiting for the Timbers match last weekend.  I’ve clicked through all of the vignettes and studied Dustin’s solutions.   I’m hoping to dedicate a few hours this quiet Labor Day Weekend to them.  I’m not too freaked out by them, but then again I always say that.

Not much else to update at this point, but as I start dedicating more of my time to studying in the following weeks I’m sure there will be more to talk about.  I’ll leave you with this question for now.  Did you know there’s an equation to calculate  just how much of an architect you are?   It was created by the very talented Andrew Diehl , and is calculated thusly:

 (years of school finished/years of school req’d + IDP hrs complete/5600 + ARE’s passed/7)   3

I tried it and turns out I’m unofficially 90% an architect!   If that isn’t something to bring up at Labor Day BBQ’s, then I don’t know what is.   And joking aside, it’s a nice reminder that the exams are only a fraction of the amount of time that goes into becoming an architect.   Even if we struggle now, there’s literally years of accomplishments to remind us of just how far we’ve come.  That’s definitely something to be proud of.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “on recovery + progress

  1. Valeria says:

    I am glad to know that your uncles are getting better Jenny!!!

  2. Casey says:

    Glad to hear your family is doing better! How’s the studying going? I’m studying BS right now and it seems like a lot of information and at times overwhelming which makes it hard to stay motivated sometimes. Hope that isn’t the case for you and BDCS!

Leave a Reply

