On masonry and miscellany

these aren’t the CMU blocks you’re looking for… (but you still kinda want them, right?)

I wrapped up the chapters on masonry late last night and am gearing up to work on steel next.  So far everything is still going smoothly, but I’m feeling like I’ve only touched the tip of the iceberg.   I have a little over half of Fundamentals of Building Construction to go through (about 550 pages or so) and it’s my hope to have it done by Sunday night.  It’s been a wonderfully informative book to read, but I don’t think I’m doing myself any favors relying on it 100% .  There are some great resources on the FTP site, including this one on Fire Doors, that I’m anxious to get to as soon as possible.    With a few more nights of hard work (and a reduction in sleep) I should be able to get everything covered.  My goal is to have my study guide done by next Wednesday and then dedicate a few days to review.

I’m still seriously slacking on the vignettes.   I’m to the point where I’m considering not going to bed tonight until I’ve attempted all of them at least once.   I’ve read through Dorf and other recommended sources, and they all make sense…now I just have to quit procrastinating and do them (…and the alternates…and post them on areforum for comments.)

I’ve taken a few more practice quizzes and my scores have bumped up to +60%.  It’s comforting to see some improvement there, and I’d like to be up to a solid +90% by the middle of next week.  Upon review of my answers, it appears that I’m doing well on big concepts and struggling on (quite literally) the nuts and bolts.  Connections, fasteners, nails, and the types of metal they’re made of is still not clicking.  That being said I haven’t dedicated much time to the topic, so hopefully I’ll get a grip on it soon.

I never thought I’d say this, but I’ve actually enjoyed preparing for this exam.  In part because it’s so awesome to finally understand what in the heck the guys at the office have been talking about all the time.  Now if only I could get to the point where I can rattle it off just as fast.  I think I still have years, maybe decades, to go on that talent… so for now I’ll just worry about a few multiple choice problems.  No sweat.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “On masonry and miscellany

  1. Tom says:

    Sleep is highly overrated…there’s plenty of time for that after your licensed. You are on the right track, and your dedication and enthusiasm is inspiring. It’s nice to enjoy the material for a change, and thanks for the Fire Door requirements. Keep up the good job!!!

    • jennypdx says:

      Thanks Tom, hope you’re doing well too! I thought I heard someone say we got to sleep after we finished school/studio…I guess that was only a quick nap to get ready for the AREs! 🙂

  2. Jenny, where do you get multiple practice quizzes? I have the PPI and it only comes with two. I’d like to take more practice exams.

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Jenny, I really admire the detail/thoroughness of your study guides and the focus it must take to make them. I’m studying for BDCS too & hoping to take it in the next week or so, & would love to have your guide as a resource as well – if you end up getting it done (as it sounds like you are working hard to do). Lots of luck on your exam! Liz

    • jennypdx says:

      Thanks for the kind words Liz! Hopefully your studying is going well, as soon as I finish my study guide I’ll be sure to pass it on…still hoping that it will be done on Wednesday. Good luck to you as well!

  4. Matt says:

    Hi Jenny, Are you able to get on the AREForum site? It is telling me: “Forbidden

    You don’t have permission to access /forums on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.”
    Thanks,

Leave a Reply

