BOOYA, she’s 6 for 6!

Victory!

I waited oh so patiently for last Friday to arrive…NCARB letters typically come the second Friday after my exam.  Except this time.  Then it didn’t come on Saturday, and it certainly didn’t show up on Monday thanks to the Columbus Day Holiday (no one else got the day off either, right?).  I hoped and prayed that the letter would be waiting for me tonight and sure enough it was.

I tore into the envelope like a kid on Christmas morning, and peeked at the letter before taking it out:  PASS

*insert sigh of relief and fist pump #6 here*

I’m so grateful to have another one behind me.  To be honest I can’t believe how fast it’s all going… it feels like I was just studying for CDS.   Now that I’m almost done I’ve begun to realize just how much these exams teach us.  I catch myself smiling when the guys at work are discussing issues similar to those in my text books, and I feel so much more confident when given codes to research, contracts to look over, details to draw, etc.  Even though we complain about the exams, it’s incredible to think about how far they push us to become more rounded designers.  A part of me has enjoyed the learning process and I hope to have a career with many opportunities to gain knowledge.   Not that there’s much of a choice really…hello Continuing Education requirements.

So now I finally feel like I can focus on BS.  My biggest goal is to study as thoroughly as possible this month so I walk in to Prometric on November 4th feeling confident.  I’d hate to make a dumb mistake on my last exam and have it set me back 6 months at the end.   The only option at this point is to knock exam 7 out of the park.  Let’s do this!

Tagged , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “BOOYA, she’s 6 for 6!

  1. i2defy says:

    You rock Jenny! You had to pass, who else deserves it as much. Now study hard for the next few weeks and it is over. Don’t forget to post the notes. I like how they are organized into content areas. You will pass this one too.

  2. Michelle says:

    You’re killin’ it. High fives all around!

  3. Roberta says:

    You rock!!!

  4. Congratulations Jenny!!!

  5. Laura says:

    Congrats Jenny! I recently passed BS in August, and I know you will definitely knock it out of the park with a PASS! Good luck with #7. I am studying for BDCS which is my own #7. Hooray!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Congrats!!!! So envious!!!! Steam roll the last one and knock it out of the park, Jenny!

  7. Emily says:

    Jenny, Congratulations! Very happy for you. You’re Oh.So.Close! I passed SPD too! I thinke we are testing on the same days… My PPP test is Nov 4th too. I have to say what you wrote here is very inspiring. I long to feel more confident in many areas of my job. Taking these tests certainly will help validate that. Its good motivation to keep going! Let’s do this! (2 down, 5 to go)

    • jennypdx says:

      I’ll be sure to send good vibes your way on the Nov. 4th then! Congrats on the SPD pass, hopefully it’s a good boost to your confidence as you study for PPP. Thanks for the kind words, you’ll be feeling the same way about making progress before long. Cheers!

  8. angela says:

    Good job. You are an ecouraging example to follow. Thanks for your sharing and generosity. Keep going , you are almost there. Congrats!!

  9. Tom says:

    Congratulations Jenny! You are coming to the light. I’m taking the same one on Monday, and this’ll be number 6 for me also, so I can appreciate your elation and relief. I’m sure your fantastic notes will once again be of great service in my preparation. Thank you for that. As far as the BS goes…focus on the concepts more than the details and you’ll be fine. I know you will be plenty ready to finish with an exclamation point.

    • jennypdx says:

      Thanks Tom, I’ll follow your advice and try not to get wrapped up in the details on BS. Best of luck to you on BDCS Monday, I know you’ll do fantastic!

      • Tom says:

        Looked online and saw my “P” Jenny. Thank you so much for sharing that great detailed study guide you put together. Now I’m moving into your PPP guide to finish up in Decemeber. I really appreciate your hard work, it is definitely helping me with my hard work. I know you will have BS’s number before you head there for that one too. You’re SO there!

      • jennypdx says:

        Awesome news Tom, congratulations!! Thanks for the kind words, they’re comforting to hear in these final overwhelming moments. I’m glad the notes were helpful and hope you’ll find the same for PPP. Best of luck, we’re almost done!!

  10. Kate says:

    Congratulations, Jenny! The finish line is so close! I’m taking my 6th exam (BDCS) the day after your BS test (November 5th), so let’s send each other good vibes 🙂 Good luck with your final push!

  11. Stephanie says:

    Good job Jenny, I got my pass for BD+C, also! (6 for 6)….and I did have Columbus Day off. Must be an east coast thing!

  12. archetect says:

    well done Jenny…..man, I soooo ENVIOUS, but truly happy for you. With all the stuff you got going, I wish I had your focus, cause am sure that has to be it. I hope that eventually I will get there…just hope it’s before I am old and gray. 🙂

  13. Takaren says:

    Congratulation Jenny!!
    I also want to tell you that I passed this test too. Thank you so much for the study notes.
    It was a very helpful. I really admire your great heart. I have one more, SD to go.
    Definitely I am going to use your study guide for this too. Good luck for your BS.
    BS, I recommend to study minor subjects also and of course graphics from MEEB.
    I felt NCARB sample exams are similar to the real one.

  14. KIX says:

    Coming down the homestretch now.. great to see your almost DONE! thanks for all your notes, they have been very helpful for me knocking these exams out this year too. SS is all that i have left.

  15. Hey Jenny, any thoughts or feedback you can provide on history questions for CDS? Haven’t found too much in the forum – was basically just going to review what I had studied for PPP. Was there anything in particular that you studied for CDS or is history not really covered on this exam? Thanks for you feedback and congrats to you!

    • jennypdx says:

      Hmmm….CDS was my first exam and was some time ago, but I don’t seem to recall there being much, if any, history. I think you’d be wise to review what you studied for PPP, but know that it’s not a major factor on this exam. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

