On jury duty, IDP, reunions, and (oh yeah) studying

found in my old BS/Environmental Controls Systems college course notes. Holla.

You know how sometime you get sidetracked by all kinds of miscellaneous stuff that throws your schedule off?  That’s kind of how things have been lately.  To summarize,  I got to experience jury duty & service for the first time, sitting on a trial for reckless driving.  That was an interesting experience, and I am glad that I got to be part of it.

I also took a few nights off to domy IDP hours.  This is the first round I’ve done with the new system, so it took some time to convert my old custom template to the new divisions before inputting all my hours from my office time cards.   After seeing how everything worked out I’ve got to admit that I’m pretty disappointed with myself and my progress. It feels like I’ll never finish the internship. I only have about 470 hours to go, 12 weeks of time, but most of my outstanding hours are in Engineering Systems, Construction Costs, and Code/Regulation…topics I haven’t been getting much hands-on experience with. I did mention it to the guys at the office so they know what I’m missing, and also looked into some of the supplementary opportunities. I know I’ll need to do some extra work once I finish the BS exam, otherwise I don’t think I’ll have my internship done and license in hand by my goal deadline of August.  Still, I can’t shake the feeling of being genuinely worried.  I guess it is what it is at this point.

Last week I was reminded of an agreement I made nearly a decade ago.  I was given the opportunity to serve as senior class president at my high school, and part of the unofficially official job description included planning the 10 year reunion for the class, “no big deal” I thought, “that’s years away!”  Well the time to plan is now. I’m realizing that if I’m going to pull this event for 200 classmates off by next fall, I’d better get started.  As one peer quipped, “She’s an architect now right? According to the show ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Architects are cool.”  I’d hate to disappoint, but I did quickly mention that I’m not nearly as cool as Ted Mosby. Still, it should be fun, and I hope I’ll be able to find some help soon.

Which leaves us to studying.  I’ve been trying to dedicate at least an hour a night to it, but I can tell I’m slipping and need to do more.  I’m already planning on Saturday being a day to turn off the internet and focus on building systems, and it’s my hope that it will get me refocused for next week.  I’d still like to have my study guide done by Halloween, and with just under two weeks to do so, I’d better get really busy.

Oh and speaking of study guides, there’s an incredible document called exam review.doc on the forum FTP site that I’m building mine off of.  It has references to all of the pages in MEEB that are useful, and is already broken into the appropriate NCARB content areas.  Hooah!  There’s tons to go through, but it looks really useful.

So life is a little crazy right now, but it’s busy times like these that remind me of my favorite Charles Eames quote:  “Never let the blood show. ”  I’m trying my best not to.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “On jury duty, IDP, reunions, and (oh yeah) studying

  1. Dustin says:

    Hey Jenny,
    I have a study guide I made for the BS exam that I found to be really helpful/ useful. I basically dissected the NCARB exam prep sheet over a weekend. If you’d like I can e-mail it to you. I feel the need to help since I used your study guides as a resource for several exams and was able to go 7 for 7.

    -D

  2. Kim says:

    Hi Jenny,

    Have you done any Emerging Professional Companion activities? You can earn 40 core hours in each experience area by completing the EPC activities (not the exercises, I learned that the hard way). I found this to be a really easy way to earn harder hours at the end of my internship. You just do an activity and then sit down with your mentor or supervisor and discuss what you did, and then report your activity, you don’t have to turn anything into NCARB.

    Here’s the NCARB link about the info:

    http://www.ncarb.org/en/Experience-Through-Internships/IDP2-Experience-Settings/IDP2-Supplemental-Experience-Core/Emerging-Professionals-Companion-Activities.aspx

    And here’s the direct link:

    http://www.epcompanion.org/

    Hope this helps! Good luck!
    Kim

    • jennypdx says:

      Hi Kim, I’ve heard of it but haven’t talked to anyone who has done it before. Thanks for the link and the information, it looks like it will be really useful. If you don’t mind me asking, how much of a time commitment did it take to get the credits/hours? Did you find that like IDP, one hour of working on EPC activities was equal to one hour of credit? I’m trying to guestimate how much time I should set aside if I want to get 40 hours in a content area. Thanks!!

      • Kim says:

        Jenny,
        One activity equals 8 hours and I think it only took me 1-3 hours per activity, so its a great way to get hours! I did a bunch and typed up my responses, then took my supervisor out to lunch and we discussed them all and then I went back to the office and recorded them with NCARB, very easy!. Some of the activities are harder and would definitely take longer, but its 8 credit hours for all, no matter the difficulty so I just chose the easy ones. (again, activities, not exercises!)
        Good Luck! Kim

      • jennypdx says:

        Sounds awesome! Thanks for the help Kim!

Leave a Reply

